GBC Film Screening: American History X

 

The GBC continues our Fighting White Supremacy Series with a screening of the film “American History X”. After the film, we’ll have a discussion.

 

Please RSVP to receive the link for the Zoom Meeting.

 

About the film:

Tony Kaye made his feature directorial debut with this dramatic exploration into the roots of race hatred in America. In a shocking opening scene, teen Danny Vinyard (Edward Furlong) races to tell his older brother, neo-Nazi Derek (Edward Norton), about the young blacks breaking into his car in front of the house, whereupon Derek gets his gun and with no forethought shoots the youths in their tracks. Tried and convicted, Derek is sent away for three years in prison, where he acquires a different outlook as he contrasts white-power prisoners with black Lamont (Guy Torry), his prison laundry co-worker and eventual pal. Meanwhile, Danny, with a shaved head and a rebellious attitude, seems destined to follow in his big brother’s footsteps. After Danny writes a favorable review of Hitler’s Mein Kampf, black high-school principal Sweeney (Avery Brooks) puts Danny in his private “American History X” course and assigns him to do a paper about his older brother, who was a former student of Sweeney’s. This serves to introduce flashbacks, with the film backtracking to illustrate Danny’s account of Derek’s life prior to the night of the shooting. Monochrome sequences of Derek leading a Venice, California gang are intercut with color footage of the mature Derek ending his past neo-Nazi associations and attempting to detour Danny away from the group led by white supremacist, Cameron (Stacy Keach), who once influenced Derek. Director Tony Kaye, with a background in TV commercials and music videos, filmed in L.A. beach communities. Rated R “for graphic brutal violence including rape, pervasive language, strong sexuality, and nudity.” ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

 

Location Local Start Time
Vancouver, Canada 10:30 PDT
Washington DC, USA 13:30 EDT
London, United Kingdom 18:30 BST
Paris, France 19:30 CEST
Athens, Greece 20:30 EEST
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 21:30 GST
WHEN
August 06, 2020 at 1:30pm – 4:30pm
WHERE
Zoom – Online
CONTACT
Angela Fobbs · [email protected]

Date

Aug 06 2020
Expired!

Time

1:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Organizer

Angela Fobbs
Email
[email protected]