Black Lives Matter and COVID-19 Webinar

COVID-19 has affected the USA as a whole on various levels in ways that were previously unimaginable. Yet, in this relatively ‘slow catastrophe’, it became apparent early on that so-called ethnic minorities and women would be the main victims of the situation. Especially the black community, which had already initiated debates about anti-black violence and the value of black lives through networks such as the Black Lives Matter Movement long before the pandemic hit, now finds itself confronted with additional existential dimensions of this issue.

This webinar will, therefore, focus on the situation of the black community in the USA during the crisis and also reflect on the current effects of COVID-19, widely publicized cases of police brutality inflicted upon George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and Ahmaud Arbery that led to worldwide protests. While the historical experience of the black community with regard to the healthcare system will be taken into account in order to explain its particular vulnerability during the pandemic, the webinar will also address the fact that both Covid-19 and the Black Lives Matter mass protests emphasize the urgency of structural reforms in the USA.

Dr. Nicole Hirschfelder (American Studies, University of Tübingen) has written her dissertation on the Civil Rights activist and organizer Bayard Rustin and has conducted research, presented, and published on the Black Lives Matter movement since 2015. Due to COVID-19, she spent several months in New York City. As a white, German, female scholar, Nicole strives to critically reflect on her position and to initiate discussions about race relations and various forms of structural violence in Germany and the US.

 

Please join us for what should be an informative and enlightening event. RSVP to receive the connection information.

Ticket cost: While there is no donation required to attend, we hope you’ll consider a donation of $10 – or more – and help reach hundreds of potential voters!  Even if you can’t join the Webinar, you can show your support by clicking HERE and making a donation for this event.

 

Location Local Start Time
Vancouver, Canada 10:30 PDT
Washington DC, USA 13:30 EDT
London, United Kingdom 18:30 BST
Frankfurt, Germany 19:30 CEST
Athens, Greece 20:30 EEST
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 21:30 GST
WHEN
July 28, 2020 at 1:30pm – 3:30pm
WHERE
Zoom Webinar
CONTACT
Angela Fobbs · [email protected]

Date

Jul 28 2020
Expired!

Time

1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Cost

$10

Organizer

Angela Fobbs
Email
[email protected]democratsabroad.org